NaNoWriMo: Validation Begins!

Standard

For anyone who is participating in NaNoWriMo, validation begins today. What this means: copy your entire novel and paste it into the NaNoWriMo word counter, hit save. The word counter will automatically count how many words; and if you made it to 50k or beyond, you will gain your purple bar and be forwarded to the Winner’s Page. (If you hand-wrote your novel, you can still validate by going to one of those websites that does the fake Latin filler things and just type in however many words you wrote. I tend to count the number of words on about two or three pages, averaging the word count, before multiplying by the number of pages: (avg # of words per page) x (# of pages) = word count.)

To everyone else who is still plugging along–you’ve got a week left–don’t give up! You can totally do it. If you need good word-padding scenes, throw in some banter and witty lines, which can be adopted in the Adoptables forum in the NaNoWriMo website. “Adopt a Sarcastic/Witty Line” is full of gold. You could probably make a novel in and of itself from stringing those lines together.

Back to validating: I actually watched the Winner’s video and it was really cute. I tend to downplay everything excitement-wise, so having everyone yell “Congratulations!” got me all excited and nearly brought tears to my eyes! Now I’m pumped to get to work editing my novel. Which will be happening shortly. I did print out the certificate, and am going to hang that up on my wall somewhere. Also, a friend of mine found a picture that’s relatively close to my FMC’s (female main character) description, so I’ll have to upload it eventually.

In other news: my poor longhaired mini dachshund, Roo (short for Roosevelt), is having a conniption because I just gave him a pig’s ear and he has nowhere to bury it. XD I think he’s going to bury it under his bed…but if I watch him, he’ll run all over the apartment to find another spot to bury it. He cracks me up; he’s whining all pathetic-like because he doesn’t know what to do with it. I should post a picture of him soon. Maybe tomorrow. He’s super cute and I’m looking to breed him at some point. He almost never barks (I can count on one hand the times he has) and he is good with people, adults and children, and other dogs.

…and is it too soon to be excited for Christmas? I don’t know what I’m more excited for–the Christmas carols or the festive decorations going up everywhere. Barnes & Nobles is already playing Christmas music–real Christmas music too; and I’m looking forward to when Petsmart begins to cache in on the market. So what are you looking forward to this Holiday season? The Music? The Gifts? Seeing family and friends?

(And I totally just caught Roo trying to bury his pig’s ear in my couch cushions.) -_- Oh good, it looks like he’s burying it in his crate underneath a ton of blankets instead…